Magnesium Supplements in Pakistan
Magnesium supplements in Pakistan come mainly as magnesium glycinate or magnesium oxide, and the number on the front is usually the weight of the whole compound, not the magnesium it gives you. Compare the elemental magnesium instead, and stay within the upper limit: the US National Institutes of Health gives 350 mg a day of magnesium from supplements as the upper limit for adults. Our shelf lists glycinate tablets first, then the glycinate powder, then oxide tablets.
Magnesium supplements in stock
Nutrifactor Magnicell Magnesium Glycinate 850 mg
Glycinate · 120 mg elemental magnesium per tablet (label)
60 tablets
In stock
Delivery across Pakistan
Rs 2,290
Order on WhatsAppNutrifactor Magnicell Magnesium Glycinate 850 mg, 30s
Glycinate · 120 mg elemental magnesium per tablet (label)
30 tablets
In stock
Delivery across Pakistan
Rs 1,250
Order on WhatsAppRoute2Health Magnesium Glycinate 850 mg
Glycinate with oxide · 250 mg elemental magnesium per tablet (label)
30 tablets
In stock
Delivery across Pakistan
Rs 1,500
Order on WhatsAppMediGreen My Best Magnesium Glycinate 500 mg
Glycinate · 70.59 mg elemental magnesium per tablet (label)
60 tablets
In stock
Delivery across Pakistan
Rs 2,375
Order on WhatsAppMediGreen Mg Best Magnesium Glycinate 750 mg
Glycinate · 750 mg is the compound’s weight; elemental not stated
30 tablets
In stock
Delivery across Pakistan
Rs 1,990
Order on WhatsAppHerbiotics Magnesium Glycinate 500 mg
Glycinate · 500 mg is the compound’s weight; elemental not stated
60 tablets
In stock
Delivery across Pakistan
Rs 2,490
Order on WhatsAppHerbiotics Magnesium Glycinate 1000 mg
Glycinate · 1000 mg is the compound’s weight; elemental not stated
30 tablets
In stock
Delivery across Pakistan
Rs 2,490
Order on WhatsAppSukooon Magisid Magnesium Glycinate 500 mg
Glycinate · 500 mg per tablet; elemental not stated
30 tablets
In stock
Delivery across Pakistan
Rs 1,150
Order on WhatsAppHerbiotics Magnesium Glycinate Powder
Glycinate powder · maker: about 300–400 mg elemental per 10 g scoop
Caution: The maker’s range per scoop reaches above the NIH’s 350 mg adult limit.
300 g powder
In stock
Delivery across Pakistan
Rs 3,590
Order on WhatsAppNutrifactor Magnesium 500 mg
Oxide · 500 mg is the magnesium oxide’s weight
60 tablets
In stock
Delivery across Pakistan
Rs 1,090
Order on WhatsAppMediGreen Magnesium 500 mg
Oxide · 500 mg is the magnesium oxide’s weight
30 tablets
In stock
Delivery across Pakistan
Rs 1,150
Order on WhatsApp
Read the elemental magnesium, not the number on the front
“500 mg magnesium glycinate” is not 500 mg of magnesium.
Herbiotics says the 2600 mg on its glycinate powder refers to the total weight of the magnesium glycinate compound, not pure elemental magnesium. The NIH gives magnesium as elemental magnesium too: an extra-strength Rolaids tablet, it says, provides 55 mg elemental magnesium.
| Product | On the front | Elemental magnesium |
|---|---|---|
| Nutrifactor Magnicell | On the front: Magnesium glycinate 850 mg | Elemental magnesium: 120 mg, stated by the maker |
| Route2Health Magnesium Glycinate | On the front: Magnesium glycinate 850 mg | Elemental magnesium: 250 mg, stated by the maker, from glycinate plus magnesium oxide 149.577 mg |
| MediGreen My Best | On the front: Magnesium glycinate 500 mg | Elemental magnesium: 70.59 mg, stated by the maker |
| MediGreen Mg Best | On the front: Magnesium glycinate 750 mg | Elemental magnesium: Not stated; about 106 mg by our estimate |
| Herbiotics 500 mg and 1000 mg | On the front: Magnesium glycinate 500 mg or 1000 mg | Elemental magnesium: Not stated; about 70 mg and 141 mg by our estimate |
| Sukooon Magisid | On the front: Magnesium glycinate 500 mg | Elemental magnesium: Not stated |
| Herbiotics Magnesium Glycinate Powder | On the front: 2600 mg per 10 g scoop | Elemental magnesium: About 300 to 400 mg, the maker’s range |
| Nutrifactor and MediGreen Magnesium 500 mg | On the front: Magnesium oxide 500 mg | Elemental magnesium: Not stated; about 300 mg by our estimate |
Our estimates assume pure magnesium glycinate (about 14% magnesium) and magnesium oxide (about 60% magnesium), from the formulas on PubChem (glycinate, oxide). They are not label claims: where a label gives a figure, use the label.
Glycinate or oxide?
What the sources say, and what only the makers say.
- The NIH says small studies have found magnesium in the aspartate, citrate, lactate and chloride forms is absorbed more completely than magnesium oxide and magnesium sulfate. Its fact sheet does not discuss glycinate.
- The NIH lists magnesium oxide among the forms most commonly reported to cause diarrhoea, with carbonate, chloride and gluconate.
- Herbiotics says on its product page that magnesium glycinate is more easily absorbed and gentler on the stomach than magnesium oxide. That is the maker’s claim; we found no health authority that makes it.
- Route2Health’s Magnesium Glycinate 850 mg combines magnesium oxide with a magnesium amino acid chelate, so it is not glycinate alone.
Upper limits and side effects
We don’t tell you how much to take: your doctor does. These are the limits health authorities set.
| Authority | Upper limit |
|---|---|
| US National Institutes of Health (NIH) | 350 mg a day for adults and from age 9, including in pregnancy; 65 mg at 1 to 3 years and 110 mg at 4 to 8 years. |
| European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) | 250 mg a day from age 4 and for adults. |
| NHS (UK) | Having 400 mg or less a day of magnesium from supplements is unlikely to cause any harm. |
None of these limits includes the magnesium found naturally in food.
- The NIH says high doses of magnesium from supplements or medicines often cause diarrhoea, which can come with nausea and stomach cramps, and that magnesium oxide is among the forms most commonly reported to cause it.
- Warning: Kidney problems: the NIH says the risk of magnesium toxicity rises with impaired kidney function or kidney failure, because the body can’t remove the excess. Ask your doctor before taking any magnesium supplement.
- Warning: The NIH says very high doses can cause magnesium toxicity, with low blood pressure, vomiting, difficulty breathing and an irregular heartbeat.
- Nutrifactor’s label says its glycinate tablets are for adults only, and to consult a physician before use if you are pregnant, breastfeeding or taking any other medicine.
Herbiotics says a 10 g scoop of its glycinate powder provides approximately 300 to 400 mg of elemental magnesium, so a single scoop can reach above the NIH’s 350 mg adult limit and the EFSA’s 250 mg limit.
Medicines that interact with magnesium
If you take any of these regularly, the NIH says to discuss your magnesium intake with your doctor.
- Warning: Bisphosphonates for osteoporosis, such as alendronate: the NIH says magnesium can reduce their absorption, and advises taking magnesium at least 2 hours before or after them.
- Warning: Tetracycline and quinolone antibiotics, such as doxycycline and ciprofloxacin: the NIH says to take these at least 2 hours before or 4 to 6 hours after a magnesium supplement.
- Diuretics: the NIH says long-term loop and thiazide diuretics can increase magnesium loss in urine, while potassium-sparing diuretics such as spironolactone reduce it.
- Proton pump inhibitors for acid, such as esomeprazole: the NIH says that taken for long periods, typically more than a year, they can cause low magnesium.
- High-dose zinc: the NIH cites one study in which very high doses of zinc from supplements (142 mg a day) interfered with magnesium absorption.
From the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements magnesium fact sheet for health professionals, updated 6 January 2026.
On request: ask us on WhatsApp
We have not confirmed these from the maker’s label yet, so we don’t list a price.
| Product | What we have not confirmed |
|---|---|
| Sukooon Magnu Magnesium (60 tablets) | Its composition and the price: ask us on WhatsApp. |
| Bio Life Magly Magnesium Glycinate 500 mg (60 tablets) | Its full composition and the price: ask us on WhatsApp. |
| Base6 Magnesium 200 mg (60 capsules) | Which magnesium compound it contains, and the price: ask us on WhatsApp. |
We don’t list magnesium sulphate injections: they are DRAP-registered drugs, not supplements.
Registration in Pakistan
These are food supplements, not registered drugs.
When we searched DRAP’s drug registry on 5 November 2026, none of these brands was listed as a registered drug. Nutrifactor, Herbiotics and MediGreen say their products are enlisted with DRAP; DRAP’s Health & OTC product index was unavailable when we tried to check on 4 and 5 November 2026. Under S.R.O. 1688(I)/2026 of 6 October 2026, DRAP notified food supplements in pharmaceutical dosage forms as therapeutic goods under the DRAP Act, 2012.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between Magnesium Oxide and Magnesium Glycinate?
They are different magnesium compounds. Weight for weight, magnesium oxide carries much more magnesium, but the US National Institutes of Health lists oxide among the forms most commonly reported to cause diarrhoea. Makers in Pakistan describe glycinate as gentler on the stomach; the NIH fact sheet does not discuss glycinate. Either way, compare the elemental magnesium on the label, not the number on the front.
What does “2600mg” refer to, is it pure magnesium?
No. Herbiotics says the 2600 mg on its glycinate powder is the total weight of the magnesium glycinate compound, not pure elemental magnesium, and that a 10 g scoop gives approximately 300 to 400 mg of elemental magnesium. The same applies to tablets: on Nutrifactor Magnicell, 850 mg of magnesium glycinate gives 120 mg of elemental magnesium.
What is the difference between magnesium glycinate 500mg, 750mg and 1000mg?
The amount of the compound in each tablet. Only some labels also give the elemental magnesium: MediGreen My Best 500 mg states 70.59 mg, Nutrifactor Magnicell 850 mg states 120 mg and Route2Health 850 mg states 250 mg, and also contains magnesium oxide. If a label doesn’t give the elemental figure, ask our pharmacist on WhatsApp.
Can this product be taken with other medications?
Check with your doctor or pharmacist first. The NIH says magnesium can interact with oral bisphosphonates for osteoporosis and with tetracycline and quinolone antibiotics, and that diuretics and proton pump inhibitors can affect magnesium levels. It advises taking those antibiotics at least 2 hours before or 4 to 6 hours after a magnesium supplement.
Is it registered?
None of the magnesium supplements on this page is a DRAP-registered drug: they are sold as food supplements, and Nutrifactor, Herbiotics and MediGreen say their products are enlisted with DRAP. Under S.R.O. 1688(I)/2026 of 6 October 2026, DRAP notified food supplements in pharmaceutical dosage forms as therapeutic goods under the DRAP Act, 2012. For vitamin D and multivitamins, see our vitamin D and multivitamin guides.
Written by the ePharmacyy pharmacy team.
Last checked against the sources below on